WhatsApp privacy: Here is how you can secretly and anonymously view anyone’s status update

236

WhatsApp has a feature that will let you secretly view someone’s Status without letting him or her know about it. WhatsApp is like an endless world of hidden tricks and the Status privacy trick is one of the most loved tricks of the app.

Before telling you what and how exactly this tricks works, you should have a clear idea about the two WhatsApp features that are involved here- Read receipts and Status.

Just to refresh, Read receipts are for those blue ticks that you see when your message has been read by the recipient on WhatsApp. Enabling the Read receipts will let you know whether your message has been read or not. If you disable the feature, you will only be able to see double tick which could mean the message has been delivered but may not be read the recipient.

Next is the much-talked about Status. WhatsApp Status allows you to share text, photos, videos and animated GIFs that disappear after 24 hours. Your Status will be seen by your saved contacts only. WhatsApp Status also allows you to hide your posts from specific people if you want.

Now coming to how the Status trick works. Say you want to see someone’s Status update without letting that person know that you have seen it. To do so, you simply have to disable your Read receipts and then view that Status. In this case he or she won’t know that you have seen his or her Status. However, on disabling Read receipts you will also be unable to see the names of contacts who see your Status update.
WhatsApp has made a small change to this functionality now. Previously you could disable the Read receipts and see the Status update. Now when you turn on the Read receipts, the chat app will automatically send the Read receipts to that contact even if you don’t open the status update after enabling it.

If you want to anonymously see the status updates then you should not turn on the Read receipts before the expiration of that Status update. A Status update is visible for 24 hours. Android users can also go to files stored on their SD card to view the Status.